People nowadays tend to take their family to another country when they work abroad. Do advantages of this outweigh disadvantages?

There is a growing trend that people who have to work abroad would take their family along with them. While there are some significant challenges to deal with, I personally believe that the drawbacks are outweighed by the benefits.

The main difficulty that each person has to cope with when moving a new country is culture shock. Different norms and the attitude of local citizens may cause a sense of isolation, which is likely to make the adaptation more challenging in the first place. Either the African or the Asian have been struggled with racism once migrating to a Western country although this practice is prohibited and heavily fined. While the adaptation takes much time, foreigners have to deal with nostalgia and the somewhat strange food of the native country. Overseas students from Vietnam, for a typical example, often express they find it hard to adapt to Western flavors whereas it is demanding to find costly Vietnamese traditional food.

Having said that, moving to a new country means having new memorable and valuable experience. Taking a child along with their parents while working in a foreign country is the best opportunity for them to learn a new language while they can enjoy the care from both father and mother. Different experiences in different places with different people can contribute to broad their mind and give them a more profound knowledge about the world. In addition, when migrating to a developed country, the family is more likely to have a better quality of life accompanied with higher incomes. The best universities and hospitals are often located in those countries, so they would have a greater number of choices with regard to either education or healthcare services.

Weighing up both sides of the arguments again, although there are a number of problems that this trend could bring, predominantly culture-related ones, the benefits that it brings to the family are precious.