People say that it is a waste of time for high school students to learn literature such as novels and poems. Do you agree or disagree with this idea?

Some advocates view that the situation that literature is taught to pupils in high schools is a waste of time. To the best of my knowledge, I completely disagree with this statement and will outline the reasons below.

For the most part, the impact that learning literature at high schools can be only seen as advantageous. The first rationale is that literature is set to play a pivotal role in building critical thinking and expanding the horizons of students. A typically prominent instance is that the writing skills in an academic way have been sharpened effectively through knowledge that can be studied in most of the forms of literature, especially novels and poems. Furthermore, should high-school students expand their minds and critical thinking by studying literature, success in their later life will be potentially increased.

On top of that, the second, and related, justification is that literature has been for a benefit of high school students to learn about social skills. Perhaps a good example would be that responsiveness and communication skills can be absorbed through reading famous masterpieces of literature and poetry. Furthermore, literary works encourage imagination and creativity. Should literature be eliminated from the curriculum of high schools, it is likely that the students will develop incompletely. Therefore, it is extremely essential for high school learners to continuously deepen their understanding of this subject.

It, therefore, can be concluded that with for the above-mentioned reasons, I entirely disagree with the view that high school students do not learn literature such as novels and poems.