People say that it is a waste time for high school students to learn literature such as novels and poems. Do you agree or disagree with this idea?

Nowadays, some people opine that studying art of writings (novels and poems) is time-consuming for day pupils. Personally, I share the same perspective with this view for several reasons which I will elaborate on these following paragraphs.

To begin with, to comprehend creative writing such as novels could act as a mirror that can provide juveniles opportunities to explore themselves through the experiences of its characters. For instance, The Hobbit, written by J.R.R Tolkien, describes adventurous primal and mythic stories inside its plot elements, eventually, students can enlarge their creative ideas. Furthermore, poems such as So Much Happiness by Naomi Shihab which are packed with emotions and diversities. This urges the school members to develop their social skills in order to get involved in their surroundings and avoid dissociative disorders among youngsters.

On the other hand, school which compile educational programs would fulfil their pupils’ purposes in higher educations. In fact, being competent in their secondary life is one of the outcomes that they may acquire from implementing progressive learning in their main subjects (maths and biology). Most American students, for instance, are being counselled for either attaining future university or applying for work. Additionally, youth volunteering which are presented in American schools, such as participating in fund-raising or recreational services, are more valuable for fostering interpersonal skills. Thus, they will acquire experiences and capability of handling far more crucial roles (problem-solving and collaborating skills) in such organisations.

To conclude, I would contend that adding creative writing such as poems and novel will occupy a lot of much longer time. Prioritising mandatory school lessons and joining social services are more crucial for students’ developments. This is as long as educational institutions keep providing a media that will lift learners’ creative ideas.