People say that reading for pleasure helps people to develop imagination and better language skills than watching TV. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, there are so many entertainment activities for life. Watching TV is one of the things that most people enjoy. Also, some people are very keen on reading books.

In my opinion, there are so many benefits about reading. First of all, we can learn and improve our language skills. For example, if we read as much as English books, we can learn from it so many new vocabulary, synonyms, idioms, grammar and the writing style of an author. It also is a way to help you to be better at speaking English such as text some sentences in the book, listen to how to read on the Internet and then speak again for many times. Second, the description in the book will develop our imagination. For instance, when we read a book, we also have a habit of imagining what we read. Therefore, reading more books will improve more imagination.

However, I think the first drawback is our patience. I believe that many teenagers now don’t like reading thick books such as my sister. She bought a novel more than 250 pages 5 months ago and I’m sure that she gave up and didn't read it although she has read a half. And also, thick books aren't convenient to carry everywhere because they are heavy. Next, I think it depends on the content of the book. If it is so boring and makes the reader feel sleepy, the people who enjoy reading books don’t want to read anymore.

In conclusion, reading books has some advantages greater than watching TV that is willing to help people to develop their language skills and imagination but it also has some disadvantages.