People say that reading for pleasure helps people to develop imagination and better language skills than watching TV.

To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Reading as a hobby, to many people, can develop imagination and linguistic ability. I only partiially agree with this statement and will elaborate my resons in the following essay.

On one side of the matter, reading for pleasure can impove imagination nd language learning in some ways. To begin with, readers benefit from the mental stimulation since they must translate and visualize fictional characters. The Godfather novel, a 20th literature masterpiece, is claimed to deepen readers’ understanding into the world of criminals and how crime syndicates operate their business. This novel would give any readers some kind of experiences which they have never been transferred to in real life. Additionally, reading enthusiasts could learn a wide range of lexis and syntax through contact with written materials on a frequent basis. Lexical units along with grammatical structures may be sophisticatedly used and varied for delicate effects. Language learners, thus, may enlarge their idiolect and grammar points, and also apprehend the application of such language in different contexts.

On the other side of the matter, imagination and language ability can also be enhanced by watching television. One legitimate reaosn is that insightful knowledge of the world could be provided to the general public by certain documentary programs. One classic example is that culinary shows might encourage viewers to picture the taste of dishes in many cuisines, which may foster a desire to further explore them in future time. In relation to language, watching TV is usually regarded as an effective approach for boosting productive skills and pronunciation. This is because the audience needs to develop nuanced listening while viewing words in characters’dialogs, and they can absorb new words, then widen the range of vocabulary by reading subtitles in foreign movies. They can not only learn how to articulate words in a right fashion but also mimic accents from native speakers while viewing authentic TV programs.

In summary, it is transparent that creativity and linguistic resources could be increased thanks to the help of reading as a leisure activity, watching television, on the other hand, can also bring the same advatages. What is necessary for individuals is the balance between both forms of entertainment.