People should follow customs and traditions when people start to live in a new country. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Some people claim that adapting to native’s customs and traditions is crucial when foreigners come to live a new country. In my point of view, I totally agree with this view.

On the one hand, if newcomers cannot integrate with their host country, they might have to encounter some unexpected troubles. Firstly, the differences in sets of social norms among countries may lead to a great deal of serious misunderstanding that poses negative effects on a relationship. For instance, hugging a woman as a greeting is a very normal act in Western countries but it is a taboo in Muslim countries. Secondly, immigrants can unconsciously engage in illegal activities if they do not respect the customs or traditions of locals. In Thailand, for example, people can be sentenced to several years in prison if they are deliberately nude in spiritual places like pagodas and temples.

On the other hand, expatriates can reap several benefits when they adjust the way they live to fit IN the local community. These adjustments are likely to reduce cultural conflicts and help them quickly settle down in/integrate into the new setting. As a result, they can easily overcome culture shock to get on well with their neighbors and their colleagues as well as make new friends. Moreover, when business people move to a new country to do a start-up, understanding indigenous traditions and customs is one of the key factors ensuring that they can successfully penetrate a new market. For example, Mc Donald a global fast food chain has had to change their standard menu when they enter the countries which have a predominantly Muslim population.

In conclusion, I believe that people should follow the culture of the host country to avoid unexpected problems and take potential advantages.