In the modern world, it is possible to shop, work and communicate with people via the Internet and live without any face-to-face contact with others. Is this a negative or positive development?

It is true that in contemporary society, people are able to shop, work and contact with others via online platforms. In my opinion, this trend could have both negative and positive consequences in equal measure.

On the one hand, the spread of the Internet brings people closer, regardless of the geographic distance/ barriers. From a communication perspective, people in today’s world can send an instant message to their friends and relatives via applications like Skype, Facebook or Viber, in comparison to a few decades ago, it may take several days to do. In terms of shopping, the Internet also offers shoppers a more convenient and time-saving way to choose and purchase a wide range of products and services. Buyers are able to stay at home and browse a large number of websites to compare prices and functions before making a decision. For working people, Internet services also introduce a new way of working. Modern office workers, nowadays, can work from home with their own flexible schedules, so much time can be saved on the daily commute and the stress of congestion can be avoided.

On the other hand, this advancement breeds several serious problems. Firstly, people, especially youngsters rely too much on online social networks to keep in touch with their friends, gradually losing basic personal skills. For example, when a group of students gathers in a coffee shop, most of them use and play with their cell phones rather than talk to one another. Secondly, shopping online is only appropriate in particular cases. When people want to buy clothes or fruit, it is much better to go to stores to try on or go to supermarkets to pick carefully. Finally, communicating via email or online services may lead to some unexpected misunderstanding which may cause profit loss for the company.

In conclusion, the development of the Internet has both beneficial and detrimental effects on the way people in society shop, work and communicate. However, I do not think that social beings can completely eliminate face-to-face interactions.