People should look after their health as a duty for a society, rather than for personal benefits. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In contemporary society, it is generally believed that personal healthcare should be made compulsory as it plays a more important role in communities compared to personal benefits. Personally, I partially agree with this statement.

For a variety of reasons, people should take responsibility to stay healthy as this would be beneficial for society. To explain, when people take care of their health properly, they can avoid the risks of picking up diseases. This means that by carefully keeping personal hygiene and follow a healthy diet, people can help diminish certain contagious illness, such as flu or cough. As a result, this can prevent the threats of these diseases from widely spreading among people in a community. For example, in Viet Nam, during covid 19 pandemic, it was people duty to strictly follow certain rules, issued by the government. Particularly, people had to carry a face mask to cover their face as well as to keep social distance in public places. This resulted in a positive outcome as the number of covid patients in Vietnam significantly dropped eventually.

Apart from the above mentioned practical concerns, personal benefits are equally important when it comes to taking care of individual health. To begin with, if working people are healthy, they can become competent, especially to the workforce. In other words, once people pay enough attention to their health condition, they will be able to work consistently without being absent due to diseases. Hence, it is possible that they can make more earnings, contributing to the improvement of their financial status. Even more importantly, for those who are the breadwinner in the family, having good health may help maintain their source of income as they will not take leaves because of illness. As a result, they will still be able to provide financial support for their family and avoid becoming a financial burden if they get sick.

Taking everything into consideration, this reinforces my perspective that looking after one’s health considered personal benefits, although its role in society should also be emphasised.