People still value artists in the age of advanced science and technology. Why do you think this is? Are arts as important as science and technology?

In this day and age, science and technology become the main driving forces of social and economic development. However, artists are also highly respected by the society. In this essay I will analyse those possible reasons and the importance of arts.

It is understandable that prominent artists have high social status. Firstly, it is the artists' performance and masterpieces that evoke people's intrinsic desire for beauty. From the perspective of evolution, our human being's utmost pursuit of beauty has never changed, from the very early cave painting to post-modernism. Artists play an important role in conduct aesthetic values in the whole process. Besides, artists are also the recorders of the history and culture, from their works people can get access to their cultural background, which is essential to build up the sense of identity in terms of nation and ethnic. In addition, even though artists do not directly produce fortunes, their behaviour can also promote the social progress. The Renaissance to the Western Culture can be the best illustration.

As to the importance of arts, I think their significance is not inferior to science and technology. One of the most essential reasons is that the art is a reflection of the progress of science and technology. Taking the movie as an example, being considered as a new genre of art, the development in movie industry represents the technology. The application of new technologies makes the films more advanced. Furthermore, science breakthrough comes from thinking and meditation, which can be brought by those profound artworks. Finally, science and technology represent the future and the masterpieces of art represent our past. Both of them integrate the process of human culture and neither could be ignored.

In conclusion, arts are important in human's development although they have played different roles from science and technology. As a result, it is reasonable that artists are highly regarded by the whole society.