More attention is paid to being"responsible tourists" in order to preserve the cultural and environmental aspects of tourist places. However, some people think it is impossible to be a "responsible tourist" in the society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People have different opinions on whether we could be 'responsible tourists'. I think it is possible for the government and individuals to make joint effort to be responsible for keeping the cultural and natural environment of the tourist destination.

It is undeniably that tourists should build up the sense of protecting the tourist attractions they visit. Firstly, many attractions are precious cultural or environmental resources, some of which are even the World Heritage with tremendous value and significance. Those attractions are susceptible to some extent, which means that once they are undermined, the harmfulness is irreversible. Therefore, they should be delicately protected by tourists. Besides, local governments should introduce some law or policy to raise tourists' attention to preserve those places and individuals are also supposed to carry out their responsibilities while traveling. For example, uncivilised behaviour such as dropping litter about should be strictly prohibited or punished in order improve people's awareness of environmental protection.

However, some people argue that there are several factors which make it impossible to be a 'responsible tourist'. To begin with, they think that the damage of some tourist attractions are simply due to the industrialisation and the macro environmental change. Tourists can do little to alternate this situation. Furthermore, some popular attractions are so famous that it is impossible to avoid the overcrowding all the year round. Under such circumstance, even though all tourists are rule-abiding, it will also cause chronic damage to those places especially some ancient architecture or natural reserves. I think this issue is not insolvable and relevant managements should take measures to limit the maximum tourist number to mitigate this condition.

In conclusion, as long as tourists and governments raise their sense of preservation and take positive actions to protect the tourist attractions, it is probably that more responsible tourists' will appear in the near future.