People these days watch TV, films, and other programs alone rather than with other people.

Do the advantages of the development outweigh the disadvantages?

As privacy has been highly valued, individuals tend to view films and other programs in solitude. While there are valid concerns about this phenomenon, I believe that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.

On the one hand, opponents of individual television viewing emphasize the potential for isolation. When the family members sit in their own rooms, enjoying watching their favorite programs, the amount of time they spend with each other may be reduced, which means that their cohesive bond may be compromised. Additionally, such a trend leads to a increase in the demand for television, which is known as one of the most expensive forms of advanced technology. Inflation is likely to occur and the economic progress as a whole of various nations can be impeded.

On the other hand, despite the above-mentioned legitimate concerns, there are beneficial effects on the viewers' viewing experience that justify the popularity of watching films in a private place. Chief among these is that watchers have the freedom to enjoy their favorite programs at their preferred volume without asking for the permission of someone else. This cannot be achieved by watching with other people due to considerable time spent in figuring out a shared interest to choose a movie that all parties can find enjoyment in. Another point worth considering is that watching alone can alleviate their concerns about being subjected to criticism when individuals provide comments on a scene of the film they are watching. A scientist has done a survey, requiring participants to answer their experience of sharing a favorite movie with their loved ones. The final results show that 80% of them hesitate to articulate their viewpoints about the film because of the fear of being criticized, and they find themselves more satisfied with the viewing experience in solitude.

In conclusion, while enjoying films alone can be potentially detrimental to some degree, the benefits overshadow the drawbacks. It is recommended that people curtail their television consumption to mitigate the severity of such development