People think that the government should increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles to solve environmental problems Give your opinion

The discourse regarding the rise in petrol prices for means of transport has generated controversy in recent years. Some argue that this measure can tackle serious environmental issues; however, others believe that this is just an immediate solution; hence, it is meaningless. Both sides equally considered, I strongly advocate for the first statement with the following reasons.

First of all, the increase of fuel’s cost can enhance the quality of air. There is no doubt that by putting the rise in gas prices, commuters have a tendency to consume less; hence, the exhaust fumes from vehicles will be less produced. According to an environmental experiment, the majority of emission is carbon dioxide, which is proven to be the underlying root for air pollution and greenhouse effect. That is why if national authorities introduce a high tax on fuel, it can cut down on emission and benefit our air.

In addition to the air’s quality, this solution can prevent our natural resources from running out of non-renewable energy. If humans overuse fossil fuels including coal, oil and natural gas, it can attribute to the inadequacy of non-refillable resources; moreover, there will be no fuel to meet the demand of daily activities in the long run. A satisfactory illustration of this is that in developing countries, particularly in mountainous areas, local people frequently utilize coal to generate electricity and produce fire for rice-cooking. To sum up, the tax on petrol can reduce the speed of fossil fuel’s consumption and avoid the exhaustion of non-renewable energy.

In conclusion, enforcement of price on petrol would be a useful environmentally-friendly transport measure because it can not only improve our air but also avoid the lack of fossil fuels.