People think that old buildings should be knocked down and give way to the modern buildings. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People reckon that old buildings ought to be demolished and might be replaced by new constructions. Personally, I totally agree with this opinion.

The reason that I agree that historic buildings should be knocked down as these may bring more serious consequences in natural disasters than modern buildings. Since the structures in old constructions are not as stable as modern ones, leading to more casualties caused by the collapse of these old-aged buildings in natural disasters. For instance, the perilous earthquake in Haiti 2010 has recorded 160000 dead people who were mainly living in old buildings without any earthquake-resistant methods, making the Haiti government encourage people to build more new buildings.

I also approve of the construction of modern apartments to replace old buildings because it can solve the lack of accommodations caused by population explosion that old structures can not resolve. This may because the structure of modern buildings tend to be higher than old ones in this day that bestow more accommodations than for people to live in, saving land area for other essential amenities. For instance, Hong Kong faced the proliferation of population alongside the lack of land area in the past that the government have to encourage people to move to new apartments instead of building a house, contributing a lot to the solution of housing problems nowadays in this place.

In conclusion, I completely agree that old houses should be knocked down and replaced by modern buildings.This is because the instability of old buildings and the modern constructions are ideal key for overpopulation.