A person spends most of his or her time at the workplace, and life becomes meaningless when there is no job satisfaction. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Work has become a pivotal part in modern life as today people are often characterized as a work obsessive. Therefore, as some people argue, the lack of job satisfaction will lead to a hollow life. However, I would object to this viewpoint because a meaningful life does not come from only job fulfillment.

Admittedly, the non-existence of job satisfaction at the workplace presents a hindrance to the full enjoyment of one’s life. As people normally spend almost half of their day at the workplace and even more on doing their work at home, their job has become such an integral factor which can have a profound domino effect on other aspects of their life such as health, family, and social circles. Therefore, should there be workplace dissatisfaction, people will incur dramatic mood swings as their feelings have been suppressed for the whole day. For instance, having endured harsh criticism from the manager at the office, the father of a family may take his anger out on the mother or the children and seriously hurt their feelings. This shattered familial bond will correlate with an emotionally empty and meaningless life for that father.

However, I would argue that job satisfaction is not the sole determinant of a meaningful life for a person. It is because a meaningful life emanates from a multitude of factors ranging from leisure activities to social networking. Therefore, if the level of job dissatisfaction remains at an acceptable level, people can still relish their life from other aspects of life. Even to some, an occupation is only considered a means to an end to assist them to accomplish other more vital life goals. To exemplify, many young people nowadays take travel bloggers as their side job because their main occupation cannot quench their thirst for traveling and horizon-broadening experiences. However, they still attach themselves to their main jobs only for the sake of a stable financial resource for their hobby: traveling.

In conclusion, job satisfaction plays a critical role but not the mere contributory factor for a purposeful life since life fulfillment pertains to many other aspects like hobbies and social networking. Nevertheless, it is still more imperative to land a job from which one can derive genuine satisfaction with a view to a sense of all-rounded life satisfaction.