Pollution of rivers, lakes and seas is a major concern for people who seek to protect the environment.What are the possible causes of water pollution, and what effects does this have on animal life and human society?

The rate at which water bodies on the earth are getting polluted is alarming. If it didn't concern one yet, it must be now as human or other creatures on our planet can't get away with it. Water is one the most important substance for life; and pollution and contamination of it has been proven very dangerous. We are still discovering the illegal effects of the same on living animals.

For example, growing need of human being for various resources can only be fulfilled by various industrial production such as petrol-chemicals, pharma or dying. All of these industries are meant for human well-being but at the same time they produce enormous industrial waste which sometimes gets released in to rivers or lakes without proper waste management treatment. Due to that surrounding land areas get impacted and such chemically polluted water enters in to food chain via agriculture on these lands. This too is at an extent where hazardous metals like lead could be found on mother's milk which raises serious questions about our safety from this deadly industrial pollution.

Even if we talk about domestic waste causing polluted water, unfortunately it is too not far behind. The use of plastic and metals is increasing day by day for convenience and logistic purpose. But such one-time-use material produces tremendous waste. Many of the developing countries have neither enough regulations nor sufficient technologies to recycle them. Hence, these items get washed away in rivers due to rain or they are disposed in water bodies or seas. Eventually they get stuck in ocean's bed and affect numerous marine creatures. These innocent animals are trapped in to plastics or sometime they get hurt due to metals and lose their lives.

To summarise it is high time humans stop exploiting nature for greedy reasons and take care of most precious entity in the earth which is water. Unless we take strong actions to reduce polluting water, repercussions of the same on the life on the earth can be dramatic and lose can be irreversible.