Many developed countries have faced the problem of poor nutrition and obesity nowadays. There is a common assertion that imposing a high tax on fast foods can reduce the problem. I am partly in agreement with this notion but I believe it does not necessarily touch on the root cause and this will deter only the lower income groups. So, other steps should be taken to alleviate the problem.

It should be noted that, the majority of fast food consumers are big cities' dwellers who can still afford buying fast foods despite a price increase. The rise in the price of those greasy options is comparatively small to their income and would not be enough to convince them toward eating more healthily. Reports demonstrate that individuals who live in urban areas prefer ready foods over the others because of their busy life-work style. That is to say, greasy fried chicken or hamburgers are convenient choices to get by the day without spending too much time on preparation while still getting a decent level of satisfaction after a meal.

Perhaps a better solution is to make healthy food more affordable and accessible while making awareness about the harmful effects of convenience foods. As far as I 'm concerned, many people are consuming fast foods because healthier alternatives are not conveniently available. For instance, ready to eat food is available in supermarkets while for buying housemade foods' ingredients people should go to chain stores. Moreover, running campaigns that increase social awareness about the dire consequences of fast food over consumption can deter health conscious people from eating too much processed food. For example, inviting nutritionists to schools or tv shows can be a way of increasing the knowledge about the fast foods of the human body.

To conclude, although imposing tax on fast foods may decrease its consumption among the lower income class due to lack of money, it will not solve the problem since still too many people will be able to pay extra costs. Considering the main reasons for fast food over consumption, I reckon that wholefood should be more available and more information should be given to society about the negative impacts of this harmful trend to tackle the problem