Popular events like the football World Cup and other international sporting occasions are essential in easing tensions and releasing patriotic emotions in a safe way.

To what extent do you degree or disagree with this opinion?

Recently, the phenomenon of popular events which are held around the world and its corresponding impacts have sparked a long-running dispute. In this regard, apart from enormous benefits of international sporting events in terms of the ability to solve international conflicts, popular events can be considered as a means of releasing patriotic feelings. In my mind, sporting events should be taken into consideration as an appropriate way to alleviate worldwide conflicts as well as showing patriotism.

Obviously, regular sporting events, such as the football World Cup which is held every four years, pave the way to put nations’ conflicts aside. For example, during the second world war, rivals in the battlefield decided to throw away their weapons and they played football together. It took place during Christmas days, and so at those days far fewer soldiers were killed. Hence, that part of battlefield had witnessed peaceful days thanks to sports.

Moreover, loads of weaker countries have the opportunity to manifest their strength by means of sporting occasions. Undoubtedly, it stems from their athletes’ patriotic feelings. As a tangible instance, so-called the God’s hand of Maradona, one of the most notorious football players, in 1986 World Cup, ended up to elevate Argentina’s populace patriotism. Winning the Cup by Argentina leaded to months of celebrations throughout the country. Thus, Argentinians not merely could elevate their nation-loving emotions, but also found a way to conquer England, whether it was solely in the tournament.

On the other hand, we shouldn’t lose sight of naysayers. They are of the opinion that international sporting events would not contribute to such outcomes as easing tensions or releasing patriotic emotions. Instead, they elucidate that colossal budgets of popular events should be spent on much more urgent priorities, like elimination of poverty or hunger across the four corners of the globe.

To sum up, despite compelling arguments on cons and pros of popular events and sporting occasions as well, I opt to support vigorously the idea that the merits of these types of events far outweigh downsides. Who can realize feelings of being a champion in Olympic Game? Of course, solely the gold medal winner alongside their country fellows!