At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people.

Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

With the development of states, there are more and more countries with a high proportion of young people, while comparatively a little proportion of the elderly. In my opinion, I believe this kind of population structure is not beneficial to one state.

Though there is no doubt that a population structure with a high proportion of youngsters may reflect an upcoming prosperous future and an overwhelming demand for purchase, which may boost the economy of a country. However, the low proportion of elders means a high death rate in a state may happen. In other words, this may reveal that the country is not safe enough to enable the elderly to live in longevity. There is a high possibility that the country may suffer from a disastrous war or serious epidemic disease.

Countries including Africa and India have this kind of similar population structure compared to longevous countries mostly in Europe. The sufficient labour force in these countries usually results from the failure of practicing birth control, which may contribute to the impoverishment of a family since they cannot afford to raise up a child. In the long run, the country may fall into a vicious cycle: the poor get more even poorer, which is fatal to the futuristic development. The issue should not be overlooked, and I believe it is the government should take the responsibility to implement related laws to support the society.

With the provided reason, I insist that a country with relatively large amount of young people than elders has tremendous drawbacks rather than advantages. Solutions should be set up in order to alter this tragic circumstance.