Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organization.

Why might this be the case?

What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

In today’s world, it is obvious that there are more start-up companies that become more common. Compared to traditional companies, running a brand-new business seems to become a possible choice for people in these days. In this essay, I will first discuss the reasons why may cause to this, and then discuss the drawbacks of running one’s own business.

In recent years, thanks to the booming development of the Internet, there are new kinds of businesses springing up. The emerge of social media has created a great business, which lead to an innovative change of companies. Thus, if one foresees the potential market, it is possible for one’s to become self-employed. Moreover, working for a company means one need to obey all the rules and policies of a company. For those who are tired of being slaves of a company, being their own boss is also a great idea.

However, unlike working for a company, being self-employed also has its shortcomings. Starting up a new business may face numerous risky situations that one needs to face with, and the responsibility of the company will fall to one’s own. If the company is not able to get through difficulties, one may face the failure which may become in debt. Above that, traditional companies may have enough human resources to share the workload, however, being self-employed means that one may need to handle multiple tasks from different areas individually.

To sum up, there may be a lot of incentives to start up a new business, nevertheless, there are also new challenging and risks that need to face with. There is no right or wrong once making sure what career does one wants to pursue.