At present time the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults compared with the number of old people. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is said that in some countries, the population of young people is more than the old ones. I believe that this situation can have equal advantages and disadvantages.

On the one hand, if the population of young adults grows, countries may experience some problems related to unemployment. This situation is more understandable when large numbers of university students graduate from universities at the same time and want to find a suitable job. The oversupply of labour can cause hard competition in the job market and even make poorer working conditions, as many employers may misuse the situation to bring the wages down and exploit the young workers. Also, this condition can force or persuade some young job seekers to make a decision to migrate abroad in search of work, which is not a desirable outcome for each country. Additionally, the increasing number of young adults can impose more costs on the government in the terms of providing health services, food materials and other important public facilities.

Despite the drawbacks mentioned above, the growing number of young adults can be seen as a positive trend. The young population can make a country vibrant, as they are risk-takers and are more passionate to use their creativity and innovative ideas to experience new things to keep up with their international counterparts in the first world countries. Such individuals can help their countries have a thriving economy. This is because these people are willing to enrich their knowledge about the new and modern methods in different work contexts to attract the attention of powerful companies for international exchanges. In addition to this, a large number of youth individuals let the government gain more money in tax to spend on the improvement of necessary public services.

In conclusion, in my view, there are both benefits and drawbacks if the number of young population increases compared to old ones.