Some people view teenage conflict with their parents as a necessary part of growing up, whilst others see it as something negative which should be avoided. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have different views on whether or not arguments between teenagers and their parents are positive. While some claim that teenage conflict with their parents does more harm than good, I believe that sometimes it is necessary, as it is one of the essential stages of teenagers' development.

I can explain why some believe that teenage conflict with their mothers and fathers is harmful. There is no doubt that adolescence can be a difficult period for both young people and their parents. During this period, teenagers have some biological and psychological changes, so they are so sensitive compared to other times. Therefore, any dispute can cause tension in the family and weaken the relationships between juveniles and their parents. As a result, adolescents are more likely to show rebellious behaviour and even an anti-social demeanour in order to prove to their parents that they do whatever they want. This situation can destroy their future lives. For example, they may avoid continuing their education or try to fall into line with people who are addicted and even escape from home to follow their dreams. So, during the adolescent period, parents are advised to be lenient with their children as much as is reasonable.

Despite the negative consequences of arguments on family relationships, I believe that they can have some benefits for teenagers. Conflicts can help juveniles to become mature and learn how to express their opinions and defend themselves. In addition to this, they gain experience in not letting others irrationally impose their rules on them. For instance, a child may grow up in a family of meat-eaters but feel very strongly about not eating meat. In this condition, such a person has the right to follow his beliefs and express his opinion freely even if he meets negative feedback from his family members. These children will feel more confident and self-reliant.

In conclusion, in my view, disputes between teenagers and their parents are natural and have always existed. Depending on the circumstances, such arguments can have both negative and positive consequences.