It is more harmful to compromise one's own beliefs than to adhere to them.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is said that it is more detrimental to ignore our beliefs than to adhere to them. I agree with this point of view.

“Compromising” means that different people with various ideas converse with each other and then some individuals give up part of their demand or belief. This situation usually does not have a desirable outcome, as most of the time in this condition, some people force themselves to accept something that they do not believe in. In other words, these people ignore their opinions and follow some beliefs blindly regardless of whether they accept them or not. Compromising with someone’s beliefs can cause individuals to lose their self-confidence and self-reliance. For example, in a company, an employee may disagree with one of the business politics of their boss (it may be immoral) but due to different reasons, they are not enough brave to stand against their boss. So, they have no choice but to accept and follow it. In this situation, the person may lose his/her respect and even honesty because they learn to imitate the wrong beliefs that they compromised on.

I believe that people should not ignore their opinions and beliefs, and they have to try to adhere to them. Adhering to ideas means that people do not try to accept a belief that is imposed on them, especially, when they know that it is wrong. They always pursue their beliefs. Such people may sometimes accept others’ ideas but they have this courage to leave these ideas whenever they become against their acceptable principles. This is because these people have respect for themselves and know that if they want to have the respect of others, at first they need to venerate themselves.

In conclusion, in my view, people must protect their confidence and personality by adhering to their ideas as long as they are right.