Present a written argument or case to an educated non-specialist audience on the following topic:

Under British and Australian laws a jury in a criminal case has no access to information about the defendant's past criminal record. This protects the person who is being accused of the crime.

Some lawyers have suggested that this practice should be changed and that a jury should be given all the past facts before they reach their decision about the case.

Do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The jury board in Britain and Australia have no prior knowledge on the accused past criminal record, if any exsists, to give a fair ruling. However, some lawyers proposed to change this method to make a proper decision on a case.

The jurors and the accused have to way of contact before the trials begin, they only know of the information they are given. In this way, the person charged with a crime can make a good first impression on them. However if a person in falsely put on a trial, they might be on a mental strain which would give them a dissevel look that would put off the jurors. Here, knowing about the summoned can make the job easier.

Furthermore, the poll members should be aware of not only the criminal past of the person on trial but also about his educational history, metal stability and medical records as these factors play a key role in making a criminal out of a innocent person. They also need to know about through history of the victim and the supposed criminal to determine if the crime was premediated or spontaenious.

In the korean movie, Miracle at cell no 7, had the scenerio perfectly depicted for us. The innocent and mentally retarded man was falsely thrown in jail and later punished for raping and murdering a child. Neither the jury members nor the police looked at the man before them; they only saw the circumstantial evidence which could have been overruled upon closer inspection. The inability of the man to express himself only help to further indict himself as a criminal.

However the jurors should not be biased upon knowing the facts of the accused. The facts only should help to understand the person and their motive for the crime. Only then a fair and wise decision could be made.