The prevention of health problems and health illnesses is more important than treatment and medicine. Government funding should reflect this.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a common belief that government funding should be allocated to preventive measures as they are more essential than medical treatments. From my perspective, there is little to disagree about such an approach due to its sustainability and cost-effectiveness compared to the risky and costly treatments.

While it is undeniable that treatment and medicine are crucial, relying on them is a high-risk and exorbitant approach. Admittedly, medical care serves as a savior to thousands of lives. However, I would argue that medical care is not highly advanced enough to guarantee ailments are eliminated. There is a considerable probability of medical and technical errors as the number of able medical practitioners is limited. A compelling example can be seen in cardiovascular surgery, in which despite preoperative risk stratification, patients undergoing such surgery remain at high risk of death. Additionally, getting access to medical treatment may cost a fortune to many low-income individuals. This is mainly because the more severe the diseases are, the more astronomical amount of money spent on facilities and medical staff is.

On the other hand, the prevention of potential diseases is more sustainable and economical. Scientifically, human well-being tends to be reinforced and maintained as both their resistance and immune system are enhanced when applying efficacious preventive measures such as daily exercising and a healthy diet. Effective prevention also restricts the number of patients, which helps to improve the productivity of medical treatments conducted and mitigate the burden shouldered by medical staff. Vietnam's strategies towards the Covid-19 pandemic perfectly exemplifies this. As there has been no cure for such disease, self-quarantine, facemasks, and hand sanitizer are of paramount importance. Considering the potential virtues, governments should adopt prompt preventive methods to yield optimal results. For instance, every resident should be made eligible for vaccines before possible infection.

In conclusion, while I acknowledge the importance of treatment, I would contend that effective preventive methods which have more long-lasting effects should be prioritized in terms of funding.