Psychologists have known for many years that colour can affect how people feel. For this reason, attention should be given to colour schemes when decorating places such as offices and hospitals.

How true is this statement?

How far does colour influence people’s health and capacity for work?

For years, colour has been known for having significant impacts on human's psychology and the use of colour also has a strong influence on human's health as well as working capacity. As a result, one should pay special attention to make a full use of colour in such places as offices and hospitals.

To begin with, it is a common knowledge that bright colours have the capacity to lift the mood while dark colours have the opposite effects. Therefore, one can easily observe that the former are used sparingly in medical and working spaces. While white colour is used to give the illussion of space extension, red and yellow are utilised for boosting energy and creativity. In some cases, colours such as black and blue are also put into use at subtle amounts for enhancing focus and professionalism.

In addition, many researches have given scientific facts about the direct links between colour and human's mental health. Thanks to this, colour therapy is introduced as a recommended remedy for stress relief and even those who are suffered from post traumatic stress disorders. These particular benefits make using colour in the interior design of offices and hospitals become even more crucial because these are places that people with such problems are usually found.

To sum up, it is true that colour has the direct relationship with human's emotions, specifically the ability to optimise people's health and working performance. Therefore special care needs to be placed on using colour schemes for decorating places that people works or gets medical helps.