By punishing murderers with the death penalty, society is also guilt of committing murder. Therefore, life in prison is a better punishment for murderers. To what extent do u agree or disagree with this statement ? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

For centuries, there have been a debate to whether death penalty or life imprisonment is a finer way of disciplining murderers. Death penalty is inhuman and life in prison is a better way of punishing murderers because they deserve a chance to realize their mistakes.

In some countries it is legal to kill someone if they have committed a terrible crime. This is called a death sentence, or the death penalty. There are lots of reasons why people think it's wrong. For example, death penalty goes against our most basic human right - the right to life. Which clearly states that no one have the right to take another mans life no matter what, and doing so does not make the society any better than those murderers. Secondly, no-one has ever proven with numbers that killing murderers stops other people committing similar crimes. No matter how many thousands or millions are killed by death penalty more and more people who are inveterate murderer are still not fazed by this, so clearly it is not a solution. Lastly, mistakes are sometimes made in the law - what if someone is killed who is actually innocent? that person can never be exonerated as he/she died for an unjust cause.

Furthermore, prisons gives people time to mull about their actions and possibly change due to remorse. Any form of punishment in modern era is for retribution and to great extent corrections. Prison punishment is also known as school of corrections. In practical world, due to less resources, the correctional home like prisons have defeated their goal /formation for reasons you laid. Yet, the prisons make sense as freedom is very precious for every human being. There is effectiveness of the prison as for general deterrence but with regard to specific deterrence, it has its own limitations and I still claim they are effective to great extent. As men who have to been to prison do not want to be there again unless the obdurate murderers.

To conclude, death penalty is unethical and inhuman to the society and should be abolished. While life in prison sentences on the other hand can help rehabilitate this murderers and at the same time it is morally right and should be encouraged.