Some of the Methods used in advertising are unethical and unacceptable in todays society. To what extent do you agree with this view.

Advertisements have become increasingly popular these days. There have been numerous ways of advertisements in recent years, but the draw back is that not all of this methods of advertisements are acceptable and ethical in our society today. I can undoubtfully say that i completely agree with this viewpoint.

To begin with, there are a variety of ways in which advertisements are being carried out these days that are inappropriate. Advertisements on mobile phone is a typical example of an unacceptable method of advertisement in our society. For Instance, in my country, where this so called network providers can freely bombard people with unnecessary advertisement messages through SMS or sometimes even through phones calls is not acceptable. From a personal experience i had with MTN, they send at least five sms per day to their costumers advertising their goods and services. One particular incident i will never forget was when they called me around 2AM, at first i thought it was elder brother because he often call me that late. But low and behold i realized it was MTN after i answered the call they started advertising their new product, after countless outcry from the public about the invasion of their privacy by them. The government had to fine them 50000 naira and mandate that no advertisement or promotion should be done through mobile phones by an network provider, it can be clearly said that this kind of advertisement method is ethical.

Further method of advertisement that is unsocial for our society are some adverts through the internet or world wide web. Some adverts will just keep popping up in your browser and redirecting you to another site just to simply download their products, this can be really infuriating and irritating. For example, this site Tvshow4mobile.com is filled with such advertisements which forces people to buy and download their products by the constant redirection to their sale page. This kind of way of advertising is unacceptable to the society.

To conclude, looking at this discussion it is crystal clear that some ways of advertisement is inappropriate and immoral to our society as they invade our privacy and force us to buy or download there goods and services. Eloquently speaking this needs to stop as government and individuals needs to stop this