By punishing murderers with the death penalty, society is also guilty of committing murder. Therefore, life in prison is a better punishment for murderers. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The method of punish criminals has changed since the introduction of contemporary era. Some people claim that the most effective punishment is the life sentence because capital punishment violates of criminal laws. Both the outlooks will be critiqued before reaching a reasonable conclusion.

Some people opine that life sentences are the best approaches for the criminal punishments. Life without the possibility of parole is an alternative to capital punishment that addresses our need for public safety. Almost 9 out of 10 responses that life in prison without parole feels secure than that of capital punishment.

Moreover, costs involving life imprisonment are cheaper than capital punishment. The costs of carrying out a death sentence is more than the life imprisonment, because criminals are carrying out endless appeals to delay the procedures and takes up a lot of times. In California, for instance, spent more than $117 million each year to maintain and procedure of a death penalty compared to $2.34 million for life in sentences.

On the other hand, death penalty can be the definite measure to reduce crime rates. Life sentences are not a good way to ensure that the criminal does not commit such crimes again. In the USA, the prison murdering cases had accounted for more than $76% of all crimes. In some cases, when the criminals got out from the prison with sentencing life imprisonment intentionally or unintentionally, the public will not be secured.

After addressing both the aspects I come to conclusion that pros of death penalty are outweighed by its cons. We should not be swayed by the action of capital punishment.