Q 19 : Developing countries require help offered by international organizations to ensure healthy and sustainable developments. Some people think that financial aid is important. Others believe that practical aid and advice is more important. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Recently, the question of how to support emerging countries has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that financial assistance for less-developed nations should take precedence over practical help and advice, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that third world countries benefit a great deal from receiving monetary assistance do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that an astronomical amount of money is needed to construct a high quality of infrastructure, including railways and roads, which makes it possible for developing nations to invigorate economic growth. In fact, poorer countries are incapable of affording to build facilities without financial aid from global charities. In addition, a multitude of citizens in Africa are suffering from global hunger as well as a lack of basic necessities, such as primary education and balanced meals. If it were not for monetary support for socially disadvantaged people, they would have difficulty living a better life.

On the other hand, others contend that more emphasis should be placed on practical help and technical advice than financial help. Those who support such a view assume that although it seems beneficial for global charitable foundations to provide vast sums of money for poorer nations in the short term, developed countries that have a myriad of invaluable skills and experience derived from trial and error should teach these skills and experiences to third world countries considering that obtaining practical skills enables them not only to achieve economic and political progress but also to become less dependent on other countries. Furthermore, a large number of developing nations often experience high levels of corruption preventing the masses from having an improved standard of living. If they receive numerous pieces of advice from experts in global institutions, this phenomenon would be alleviated. ​

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above.