Q 19: Developing countries require help offered by international organizations to ensure healthy and sustainable development. Some people think that financial aid is important. Others believe that practical aid and advice is more important. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Recently, the question of how to support emerging countries has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that financial assistance for less-developed nations should take precedence over practical help and advice, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that financial support benefits thrid world countries a great deal do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that an astronomical amount of money is needed to establish a high quality of infrastructure, including railways and roads, which makes it possible for developing countries to invigorate economic growth. In fact, poorer nations are incapable of affording to construct facilities without monetary aid from global charities. In addition, a multitude of citizens in Africa are suffering from global hunger as well as a lack of basic necessities, such as primary education and balanced meals. If it were not for donations for socially disadvantaged people, they would have difficulty leading a better life.

On the other hand, others contend that more emphasis should be placed on practical help and technical advice than monetary support. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that although it seems beneficial for global charitable institutions to provide poorer countries with vast sums of money in the short term, developed nations having numerous invaluable skills and experiences derived from trial and error should teach these to emerging countries. This is because receiving numerous pieces of advice and useful knowledge enables them not only to boost economical and political progress but also to become less dependent on other countries in the long term. Furthermore, the majority of less-developed countries are experiencing high levels of corruption preventing the masses from having an improved standard of living. If they obtain advice from experts in global foundations, this phenomenon would be alleviated.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above.