It is sometimes argued that capital punishment is necessary to decrease that rate of violent crimes and to help our lives to be safer. In my opinion, I partly agree with this idea.

On the one hand, death penalty is disadvantageous to some extent. First of all, innocent people can be wrongly convicted and executed before the truth is revealed. Such unfair sentences take away the lives of innocent people and make other citizens lose faith in law and justice. Secondly, sometimes criminals repent their acts. In this case they should be given a second chance to start over and improve themselves.

On the other hand, it is clear that capital punishment would bring some major advantages. One evident strength is that it is an effective deterrent of crimes since the fear of death penalty stops people from committing offences. Accordingly, the crime rates would certainly decrease and our society would become a safer place to live in. Another reason is that the government can avoid the cost of imprisonment and save large sums of national budget. Instead, this money can be used for development of the society and welfare of the people. Last but not least, capital punishment show that crime is not tolerated. Criminals cannot pose a threat to others, which allows people to feel more secure.

In conclusion, while there are some negative effects of death penalty, I still believe that it proves to be the best way of controlling crimes, lessening governmental expenses and preventing other people from commiting offences. Courts should give sound judgement to prevent the innocent from facing wrongly execution.