Q1. Over the last few decades, there has been an increase in international tourism. Some people think that tourism is beneficial for local communities and should be encouraged. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, the issue of tourism has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that global tourism should not be discouraged as it exerts a positive influence on local society, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, the evidence supporting this contention will be discussed alongside relevant examples.

On the one hand, it seems difficult to refute the idea that there are a number of advantages that can be derived from a boom in international tourism. Perhaps the principal benefit is that the tourism industry attracts investment from global businesses as well as governments, leading to economic growth. In addition, the tourism sector creates numerous employment opportunities in the building of facilities and the updating of infrastructured, which makes it possible for local residents to have an improved standard of living. To provide a hypothetical example, if it were not for tourism, there would be much higher unemployment rates in a multitude of well-known cities amongst foreign travellers, such as Paris and London, considering that these cities’ economies revolve around tourist spending. For these reasons, there does seem to be a solid basis for the claim that the development of tourism benefits local society a great deal.

On the other hand, it seems short-sighted to contend that the growth of tourism merely brings with it positives. The most oft-cited argument against such a view is that the tertiary industry related to tourism often takes a heavy toll on the local environment. To exemplify, an article released by the Seoul Times illustrates that one notable natural heritage site designated by Unesco in South Korea had a myriad of species of endangered birds in 2010. However, the majority of these species became extinct and it turned out that the main reason for this phenomenon is that a huge amount of garbage produced by foreign tourists posed a threat to the environemtn. Furthermore, numerous overseas travellers often commit vandalism, which results in local residents having difficulty in dwelling there. In light of the above, I also find these persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above.