Q1: Some people think that the best way to reduce time spent in travelling to work is to replace parks and gardens close to the city centre with apartment buildings for commuters, but others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Recently, the issue of converting green spaces into residential areas has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that superseding eco-friendly facilities, such as parks and gardens, close to the central area of the city into residential buildings in order to reduce time devoted to commuting to and from work should be encouraged, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stance. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that people should remove environment-friendly amenities near the city centre so as to establishing housing areas do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that having gardens and parks makes it possible for working adults to take a rest helping them to unwind during their lunchtime with greater ease. To provide a hypothetical example, if it were not for parks and gardens, a large number of working people would have difficulty alleviating the level of stress, which can even exert a detrimental influence on their work performance.

My opinion, however, is that it is an effective way of combating a high volume of traffic to substitute a myriad of skyscrapers accommodating citizens for green areas near the central business district. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that if a multitude of employees residing close to the CBD travel to their workplaces by walk or foot, other dwellers in suburban areas would be less likely to suffer from traffic congestion, leading the masses to have an improved standard of living. This is because the number of personal vehicles on roads would remarkably decrease. Moreover, depriving workers of less time dedicated to travelling to work enables them to focus more on their occupations. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that destroying green places near the city centre and erecting housing estates are necessary for the reasons discussed above.