Q10 : Development in technology causes environmental problems. Some people believe the solution in these problems is everyone accepts a simpler way of life, while others say that technology can solve these problems. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

​(줄인건데도 405자 ㅠㅠ)

​Recently, the question of how to deal with environmental issues has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that the development of technology enables humans to handle environmental problems, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stance. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that having a simpler way of life alleviates the level of environmental concerns do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that with the advent of personal vehicles, a multitude of individuals own cars, operated by fossil fuels, emitting a huge amount of CO2, which leads to air pollution as well as climate change. This exerts a detrimental influence on the quality of people's lives. In addition, numerous goods made of non-disposable plastic are used by a multitude of people pursuing convenience, posing a threat to the environment. Given these points, some people hold the view that changing our lifestyle into a simpler way, such as avoiding using plastic bags and commuting to and from work by public transport, makes it possible for mankind to ease these environmental problems.

​My opinion, however, is that human beings should make use of technology in order to resolve contemporary issues related to the environment. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that in this technologically advanced era, a great number of companies invest vast sums of money in developing the way to utilise renewable energy, including electricity, lessening environmental degradation. As a brief illustration, Tesla which is the most notable firm in the field of the automobile industry could release cars using electricity as an energy source in the market owing to technological progress. These cars are able to ameliorate the quality of air given that they do not generate carbon dioxide. Furthermore, the majority of developed countries across the globe have a predisposition to convert thermal power plants into other plants that are run by alternative energy, such as wind power and solar power, with the help of up-to-date technology. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that developments in technology can help people devise solutions to environmental problems for the reasons discussed above.