Q10 : Development in technology causes environmental problems. Some people believe the solution in these problems is everyone accepts a simpler way of life, while others say that technology can solve these problems. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Recently, the question of how to deal with environmental issues has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that the development of technology enables humans to handle environmental problems, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stance. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that having a simpler way of life alleviates the level of environmental concerns do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that with the advent of personal vehicles, a multitude of individuals own cars, operated by fossil fuels, emitting a huge amount of CO2, which leads to air pollution as well as climate change. This exerts a detrimental influence on the quality of people's life. Furthermore, numerous goods made of non-disposable plastic are used by a myriad of people, posing a threat to the environment. Given these points, some people hold the view that changing our lifestyle into a simpler way, such as avoiding using plastic bags and commuting to and from work by public transport makes it possible for humans to ease these environmental problems.

My opinion, however, is that mankind should make use of technology in order to resolve contemporary issues related to the environment. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that in this technologically advanced era, a great number of large companies invest vast sums of money in developing the way to utilise renewable energy, including electricity. To exemplify, Tesla which is the most notable firm in the field of the automobile industry could release cars using electricity as an energy source in the market with the help of technological progress. These cars are able to ameliorate the quality of air given that they do not generate carbon dioxide. In addition, the majority of developed countries have a predisposition to convert thermal power plants into other stations run by alternative energy, such as solar power and tidal power, owing to up-to-date technology. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that the advancement of technology can help humans to devise solutions to environmental problems for the reasons discussed above.