Q10. Developments in technology cause environmental problems. Some people believe the solution in these problems is everyone accepts a simpler way of life, while others say that technology can solve these problems. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Recently, the question of how to deal with environmental problems has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that the advancement of technology allows humans to handle environmental issues, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stance. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that having a simpler way of life can alleviate the level of environmental concerns do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that with the advent of cars, a myriad of individuals drive personal vehicles, operated by fossil fuels, emitting a huge amount of CO2, which accelerates the speed of global warming and climate change. These exert a detrimental influence on the quality of air preventing living creatures, including human beings as well as animals, from living a better life. In addition, numerous goods made of plastic that is non-disposable are used by the masses, posing a threat to the environment. Given these points, some people hold the view that changing our lifestyle into a simpler way, such as avoiding using plastic bags and commuting to and from work by public transport, can ease these problems.

My opinion, however, is that mankind should make use of technology in order to cope with contemporary issues related to the environment. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that in this technologically advanced era, a great number of large companies invest vast sums of money in developing a way to utilise renewable energy, including electricity, lessening environmental degradation. As an illustration, Tesla which is the most notable firm in the field of the automobile industry could release private vehicles using electricity as an energy source in the market owing to technological progress, These cars are able to ameliorate the quality of air given that they do not generate carbon dioxide. Furthermore, the majority of developed countries across the globe have a predisposition to convert thermal power plants into other stations run by alternative energies, such as tidal power and solar power with the help of up-to-date technology. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that forcing individuals to have a simpler way of life should be discouraged as the development of technology can help people devise solutions to environmental problems for the reasons discussed above.