Q15: Universities and colleges are now offering qualifications through distance learning from the Internet rather than teachers in the classroom. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Recently, the issue of tertiary education has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that although there are some advantages to earning a degree by taking lectures on the Internet, these are outweighed by the disadvantages, while others argue otherwise. And I wholeheartedly agree with the former stand. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that a multitude of students benefit a great deal from receiving higher education online do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that online education makes it possible for university and college students to attend their classes anywhere since an environment where they can access the Internet is only needed. Furthermore, students are able to save their time considering that travelling to university or college deprives them of a huge amount of time that would otherwise be spent studing. Given these points, some people hold the view that students can reap a myriad of advantages from studying online.

My opinion, however, is that it seems short-sighted to contend that getting a bachelor's or master's degree by learning online merely brings with it positives. Perhaps the principal disadvantage is that online classes prevent students from getting instant feedback from their professors with greater ease, leading them to have difficulty revising for the exam. In other words, a large number of students are more likely to struggle to have a tight grasp of their studies, which can even exert a negative influence on their academic performances. Another drawback is that if it were not for face-to-face lectures for students, it would be nearly impossible for them to build a strong relationship with not only their classmates but also senior students who help students to acquire interpersonal skills that are beneficial for their future career. To be more specific, mingling with others at university enables them to feel a sense of belonging and to strengthen their bonds. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that the drawbacks of earning certificates from online education surpass the benefits for the reasons discussed above.