Q7 : Countries with a long average working time are more economically successful than those countries which do not have a long working time. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, the impact of average working time on the economy has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that longer working hours can stimulate the growth of economies in nations, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, the evidence supporting this contention will be discussed alongside relevant examples.

On the one hand, it seems difficult to refute the idea that countries where citizens devote long hours to their work are more likely to boost economic success. Perhaps the most convincing reason is that there are some nations experiencing economic success which were less developed in the past. To exemplify, one recent article released by Seoul Times illustrates that the economy of South Korea has flourished remarkably for the last four decades considering that the figures for the gross domestic product in Korea have soared more than twenty times. In fact, it turns out that the main reason for this phenomenon is the longest working hours in Korea amongst other nations in the group of OECD countries.

On the other hand, it seems short-sighted to contend that the idea that having long working hours is the sole reason for economic growth. The most oft-cited argument against such a view is that although a multitude of nations, such as Australia and New Zealand, have never forced their citizens to spend a huge amount of time working, they are still wealthy. This is because they earn an astronomical amount of money by selling numerous natural resources in the global market with greater ease. Thus, they have never had the same urgent need for long working hours in order to increase their income unlike a number of emerging countries suffering from a lack of invaluable raw materials. In light of the above, I also find these persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above.