Q20. The family has a great influence on children's development, but the influence from outside the home plays a bigger part in children's life. Do you agree or disagree?

Recently, the impact of families on children's behaviour has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that parents play a vital role in the development of children's personalities, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I believe that both arguments should be given equal weight. In the following essay, the evidence supporting this contention will be discussed alongside relevant examples.

On the one hand, it seems difficult to refute the idea that parents exert a positive influence on young people's behaviour. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that children have a predisposition to follow parents' behaviour considering that all children rely on their parents at the beginning of the socialisation process before receiving primary education. As an illustration, children with parents suffering from obesity because of undesirable eating habits, such as over-consumption of junk food, are more likely to become overweight as they often consume the same unhealthy food which is eaten by their parents. In light of the above, there does seem to be a solid basis for the claim that the parents' role in children's behaviour is crucial.

On the other hand, it seems short-sighted to contend that parents only affect children's characteristics. The most oft-cited argument against such a view is that in the fiercely competitive society, a multitude of working parents leading a hectic life have difficulty spending enough time with their offspring due to devotion to work. As a result, youngsters communicate more frequently with their friends and teachers than their friends. Thus, they learn a number of behaviour patterns as well as habits from their peers and teacher. In addition, the development of technology makes it possible for adolescents to make use of time online. This means that minors who generally are less able to distinguish right from wrong can easily be exposed to harmful and obscene information on the Internet, exerting a detrimental influence on their behaviour. In light of the above, I also find these persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, it can be concluded that each side of the debate has its strengths, as discussed above.