Q6 Some people think that it is better to educate boys and girls in separate schools. Others, however, believe that boys and girls benefit more from attending mixed schools. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Recently, the issue of young people’s education has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that teenagers should participate in schools with the opposite sex, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stance. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that there are a number of advantages that can be derived from single-sex education do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that separate schooling makes it possible for the youth to concentrate on their studies considering that they are less likely to pay attention to their appearance, which can exert a positive influence on their academic performance. In addition, youngsters are easily able to mingle with like-minded people. As a brief illustration, not only can boys share common interests, but they are also capable of partaking in leisure activities together, such as playing online games and football.

My opinion, however, is that the benefits of mixed schooling are more significant. Perhaps the principal advantage is that adolescents are capable of learning how to behave towards the opposite sex, respect them and treat them as equals. This can be hindered if boys and girls are regularly exposed to each other at school. Another benefit is that pupils who receive co-education have a predisposition to become more open-minded to others, exerting a positive influence on society. To be more specific, those who are accustomed to accepting diversity can play a vital role in the development of society given that they have less difficulty embracing cultural diversity in the era of globalisation. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that receiving separate schooling should be required for the reasons discussed above.