Question 2: Fossil fuel is the main source of energy. In some countries, the use of alternative sources of energy is encouraged. Is this a positive or negative development?

In the modern era, environmental pollution is always in the spotlight, and therefore, the trend of using renewable energy becomes a topic of controversy. While there are some advocates of this opinion who believes the use of clean energy can have a number of drawbacks, I think the shift to alternative energy is still a beneficial movement.

It is apparent that the trend of green energy can bring significant benefits to the environment. Firstly, non-fossil fuel energy does not produce any gas emissions since its source of energy is carbon-free. As a result, this sustainable energy can reduce widespread environmental issues such as climate change, global warming, or air pollution. Secondly, exploiting alternative energy can also help the world conserve natural resources. Fossil fuels are only available in finite quantities only so if we keep extracting them, they will run out sooner or later, although they are produced in the natural process, they do not replenish as quickly as humans use them.

Moreover, I believe clean energy increases energy security. We can reduce the dependence on fossil fuel energy thanks to the growth of renewables as green sources of energy continually renew, which makes them inexhaustible. Additionally, numerous countries, like the EU, still need to import fossil fuel from other nations but frequently geopolitical strife and upheavals often come with increasing energy prices and limited access to resources. Accordingly, if these countries can manufacture their own sustainable energy from existing sources such as wind, solar heat, hydro or tidal, it will tackle the current problems.

In conclusion, I deem that renewable energy is still a worthy investment due to the fact that the advantages of producing them can outweigh the drawbacks.