Question An increasing number of people are buying what they need online What are the advantages and disadvantages for both individuals and companies to shopping online

In this contemporary epoch, people prefer shopping online to going to physical stores. This essay will further discuss both facets with appropriate examples then draw a logical conclusion.

The paradigm shift from traditional to online shopping may not only restrain the escalating unemployment rates but also generate more profit for shipping/delivery companies. In Vietnam, a large fraction of university graduates had been idle until the establishment of many freight companies, which provided those people to work as shippers, digital operations managers or graphic designers. It has been estimated that a large percentage of Asian labourers- 0,5%, are working in delivery industries. The fact that there are many employees means shipping firms may operate nationally, or even, on a global scale.

Having said that, the arrival of the online retail industry also brings some prominent drawbacks for both companies and the public. The availability and convenience of online shops is more likely to encourage impulse buying, and thus, leading to consumers’ overspending. Many people usually browse multiple shops at once, look at many products, and end up putting a plethora of superfluous items into their shopping carts. In terms of the impacts on other businesses, Vietnamese traditional outlets have observed a 30% decreasing footfall since the online retailers broke into the local market. Supposing this had not happened, the sales of brick and mortar stores would not be cannibalized now, which are currently threatening their viability and vitality

To conclude, along with a wide range of occupations created for inhabitants and rising profit for shipping firms, there are some equal concerns like threatening the traditional retail industries as well as encouraging unnecessary purchases, which cannot be neglected.