Some people think that it should be compulsory for people to retake their driving test every 5 years What are the advantages and disadvantages of doing this

In contemporary society, traffic accidents have always been a major concern to the society as a whole, since they are responsible for million of deaths and injuries per year. In order to tackle this problem, some individuals are suggesting that a legislation should be imposed that compel people to have their driving test retaken every 5 years. In my opinion, this idea certainly would address the issue, however, at the same time begetting potential traffic congestion.

There is no denying that forcing people to take a driving exam every half a decade does not only reduce the amount of accidents but also can raise the awareness of citizens towards traffic laws , therefore, contribute greatly to safer roads. People tend to forget rules and skills that they have learnt for driving as time passes. Manifold accidents happened due to neither the driver’s ignorance of signs nor his unskilfulness in dealing with emergency circumstances. Statistics have underlined that up to 50% of accidents in Vietnam would not have happened if the driver does not mistake the brake and the accelerator pedal. Skills that seems so simple can be crucially important in some cases, albeit most people would neglect them. With this policy, people will be reminded of many essential traffic regulations, hence increasing people consciousness for the safety of the society and their own.

However, some downsides of this solution cannot be disregarded. As people will most likely to have spare time during the summer, huge waves of people will take the driving test then. That leads to overcrowding in numerous roads, since they need places to practice and conduct the exams. As a consequence, traffic congestions and bottlenecks are inevitable. To make matter worse, with the rise in vehicular usage, the amount of carbon dioxide emissions will increase remarkably, eventually being detrimental to the atmosphere and the environment.

In the light of aforementioned facts, one can conclude that although it is predicted that this idea can definitely help attack the problem, it simultaneously attributes to traffic jams and air pollution, which cannot be neglect by both the government and individuals.