Question

Some high school required all students to wear uniform, other higher school permit students to decide what to wear to school.

Which of these two school policies you think is better

Solution

Wearing of school uniform by secondary schools students is not maintained by all schools, While some schools required students to put on uniform, other higher school allow students to wear whatever they decide upon. In my opinion, I believe schools should set a standard, and make students wear uniform, as this will not only provide a means of identification, but also help prevent distractions during learning.

One reason why secondary schools should make students wear uniform to school is it provide a good means of identification, but for school uniform, many students would be mistaken for idle teenagers on the street. One can easily differentiate a school student from others because of the uniqueness of their wears whereas, if they are allowed to dress freely to school , it will be a hard task knowing a student from non student. For example, a teenager in my locality would have been unjustly accused of a crime exonerating him would have been very difficult. when he explained he has been in school all day , his appearance attested to that fact. The importance of wearing uniform by this group of students cannot be over emphasized.

Another important reason why wearing of school uniform should be encouraged among our teenagers in high school that it help minimize distraction. Students at this stage are very prone to distractions and negative influence , although parental guidance is necessary , but setting a standard help put them in check. Most students who go to these schools in free wears want to be at their best even when its beyond their reach . In a bid to impress their peers they go the extra mile of seeking funds by involving in immoral act, and even associating with the wrong set of people. Since teenagers are highly influenced, their sole aim of going to school can be forgotten and their focus disturbed. I think choosing a code of dressing for high school students will help achieve the primary aim of learning.

To conclude, despite the fact that some higher institutions allow students to wear whatever they decide upon to school, it is my opinion that a standard should be set whereby students will wear uniforms to school. This will provide a means of identification, and also help minimize distraction associated with this unique age group.