question

Some people say that music is a good way of bringing people of different cultures and ages together. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Some people claim that music is the medium to unite people of diverse culture and ages together. I oppose this view, and my reasons will be explained in the following paragraphs.

To begin ,music hold different meaning for different people. One reason why I do not believe music can unite people of different culture or age is the fact that music differs across culture. Many things contribute to music in peoples culture, from norms , belief , values to their unique practises and style. Each culture has its own peculiar music that may sound vague to another based on these factors . We do not sing same songs, even rhythm and tones vary with each culture . People who do not belong to a particular tribe or place, can hardly flow along except on rare occasion. For example , in the western part of Nigeria, their song during important events do not appeal to others or allow other people flow when sung and so, impossible of bringing them together .

To continue further, different age group have their preferred music . Most young and viable youth prefer wild range of active songs that may not be pleasant to the elderly, while children have their uniqueness too in music . so ,it becomes difficult to unite people of different ages through music . For instance, songs played during children birthday or other event for our young ones do not arouse the Interest of the matured , because it may not appeal to their sense of pleasure and excitement. Therefore music can't be a medium to bring people of various culture and age together.

In summary , music is seen by some people as the medium for bringing people of different age and culture together .I do not agree to this belief. People of various ages have their preferred music , and music holds different meaning for different people and culture.