Recent research suggests that the majority of criminals who are sent to prison commit crimes after they are released.

Why is this the case?

What can be done to solve this problem?

It is true that most of the prisoners are doing crimes after they are released from jail. The main reason behind this phenomenon is nothing but the attitude and behaviour of the community. It might be tackled by the awareness programmes and self-employed jobs to the hostages.

Society often thinks the criminals could not change their minds and they will commit crimes again and again. This is because of a lack of knowledge and underlined thinking about the prisoners. Common people always avoid such persons and regret to provide jobs and any support to them. Therefore, unemployment and failure to cope with society would lead the criminals to go back to their past life. For instance, in jail council reports from Indonesia, the main reason behind the return of criminals is family and social rejection with unemployment.

Nevertheless, it would be managed by the proper education to the family members and society through counselling, proposals and experiments. Governments could make legislation and employment programme for the jail returner would be effective to the core. Instruct the community to accept and encourage them to provide maximum support and make changes to mingle with each other. Members of the community help them to find suitable jobs for survival and lead better life. For example, community organizations recruit many prisoners to do part-time employments and provide financial support to do self employed businesses in India makes a huge difference.

Criminals have an instinct to return their criminality even after the release from prison due to social and family refusal. However, society and governments could do a major impact on them by the proper constitution.