In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping.
Is this a positive or negative development?
Nowadays, almost all countries in a world have a large shopping centres or malls taht become our life style.
However without we realize, these development have harmful side effect. In my opinion the negative development will silently effect more greater that positive one.
There area several reason why people choose a big shopping centres or malls. Firstly, it is because malls encourage people with the visual of the building.
Big shopping centres have an grand architecture design that will easily attract people's attention. Recent years, people know go to big shopping centres not only for shopping,
they do enjoy the architecture's building as well.The other reason is malls have uncounted retails and product neither from local brand or global. Globalization impact trend and
people's need greatly even when it comes to their daily needs and mall can provide all completely. So again, this is a positive development just to the public
and infrastructure industries.
From this evidence, it is clear to me that the main benefit are, however that does not happen to the small local shop.
For the developing countries, mostly mall or big shopping centres are international brand. Local brand is located in small shop and often covered by a this huge building so it is rarely
get notice. In Indonesia, local brand become one of the main nation economic pillar. When people travel to malls for do their shopping, small local shop will have no customer. As the
result there is no income for the local shop and this tragedy will also impact nation economic income. If this keep happening, besides it will harm local people business, the nation
economic will lost one of the pillar and may cause economic crisis.
To concluded, despite the fact that there are benefits when people travel to big shopping centres, I believe that these greatly negative side effect to us. It is unlikely that this practice
can be stopped. But to avoid worst possibility, we have to more aware of the local brand or small shop around us.