In recent years, more and more people are choosing to read e-books rather than paper books.

Do the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

Nowadays an increasing number of readers are having more affinity with e-books than the paper one. This essay will first discuss the drawback of this trend, particularly the bad effect to the eyes that might not overshadow its benefit which is mainly related to mobility and environmental protection that e-books can bring about.

On the one hand, spending a massive quantity of time on electronic screens has the ability to become a root cause of some serious eye problems. This is because the specific light from e-books may harm the readers’ eyes when they overuse it, and it could result in the sleep quality as well. A good example is that more and more children have been suffering from various genres of eye issues and a decline in sleep time due to the lack of time-management skill while reading e-books.

However, the readers can bring e-books anywhere and also protect the environment. On account of the small size of e-books that people are able to take or store it conveniently, moreover, they can download numerous books or documents from many sources to read without cutting down the trees to make paper like normal books. For instance, some governments in Asia encourage their residents to use e-books due to the climate change resulting from deforestation to manufacture paper for big companies.

In conclusion, reading e-books has more benefits such as the high flexibility and being environmentally-friendly than its downside including eye-harming. Only by using e-books can one maintain a dynamic and sustainable development for the environment.