In recent years there has been a considerable rise in crimes committed by young people in cities What has caused this What solutions can you suggest

Increasing crime rates is becoming a major cause of concern in the recent years. Most of these crimes are committed in the cities and mostly by youngsters. There are several causes for this, but this essay will discuss the effect of unemployment and illicit drug use and the possible solutions for combating this.

It is widely believed that the level of unemployment is directly proportional to the crime rates in that city. This is because people who do-not have a job are unable to meet with there everyday needs and have to resort to theft and robbery just to feed themselves. This was evident during the recession that recently hit many parts of the world. The number of bank robberies and extortion was on the rise in these cities. Another reason which promotes criminal activities in the rise in drug use by youngsters. The youth usually succumb to peer pressure and fall into the trap of endless addictions. This in turn leads them to commit felony and illegal activities just to cater to these addictions.

It is important to deal with these issues to curb the crime rates in the city. More employment opportunities should be provided for youngsters. The youth should receive career counselling in their educational centres where in several options of jobs are given to them to choose from. Once they are assured of an available source of income, they are unlikely to resort to crimes. To tackle drug addictions; firstly, parents and teachers should be vigilant of the activities of the youngsters so as to be able to guide them rightly. Secondly, strict action should be taken against drug peddlers to prevent this cause altogether. Also youngsters should be made aware of the adverse consequences of using these substance. Early rehabilitation should be offered to those involved in substance abuse.

In conclusion, law and order can be maintained in the cities if problems like unemployment and drug use are identified early and tackled by providing jobs and punishing those selling drugs. These solutions can definitely go a long way in providing a safer community.