The free movement of goods across national borders has long been a controversial issue. Some people argue that it is necessary for economic growth, while others claim that it damages local industries. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Nowadays, transportation of goods across countries has increased significantly as a result of globalisation. While some people believe this is essential for the growth of economy, others feel it hampers the businesses of local industries. Although it is important that local industries should be allowed to flourish, overall growth of the economy is key for development of the nation and also its people.

Local industries tend to be suffer when large multinational companies venture in similar fields. One of the reasons is that these giant companies have more revenue which can be invested for worldwide transportation as compared to the small native industries. For example, simple industries like clothing and textile are affected because of international brands like Levis or Puma because of their widespread marketing. These small companies are unable to compete with their larger counterparts. This shows how small companies lose because of loss of global marketing.

However, international companies are known to provide increased job opportunities for the local community. As the company flourishes there is increased income for the people and gross economy for the nation. An example of this is cities like Hongkong, which have large scale companies and provide jobs to millions of people. Also, many people are involved in the transportation of these goods and this further adds to the employment opportunities. In addition to this, the enhanced free movement of goods also promotes international cooperation and global consumerism. This proves that international companies are essential for the national economy.

In conclusion, I strongly feel that , despite the drawback of damaging the economy of local industries , global mobilization of goods has far more advantages for the people and also for the financial development of the country.